Invasive vine in Burnaby?

Discussion in 'Plants: Identification' started by munroc, Apr 13, 2005.

1. munroc

munroc Member

Re: Managing the Invasive Kudzu

Hi Daniel -

I am an amateur gardener and I have a very invasive ground vine in the garden. Both my neighbours on either side also have it. I can't see anything even close to it other than Kudzu. I don't think I've seen the flowers, but the vine runs rampant in beds. Is it possible that it's kudzu? If not, is there anything close or related that it could be? I live in the Edmonds area of SE Burnaby. I cleared quite a bit of it when I moved in two years ago, and it's under control, but keeps returning each spring.

Thanks.

Christine

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

ed. -- the initial post was split from one of the weblog discussions on invasive kudzu

Hello Christine,

We live in the same neighbourhood. We're fortunate to have one of the best weed floras in the Lower Mainland of BC because of the old yard and garden waste dump that was here decades ago (in fact, I think the vents in the nearby new park sited on top of the old dump are there to release the gases from the decaying vegetation below).

Since you mentioned that you haven't seen flowers, but you haven't discounted English ivy (Hedera helix ), that would be my suggestion as the most likely culprit. It is rampant on some of the alders on the east side of Byrne Creek Ravine Park down the hill (Hedera helix photos and description from Virginia Tech).

The other weedy vine that's here in spades is periwinkle (Vinca minor), but it is flowering now, and generally not shy about doing so (Vinca minor photos and description from Univ. of Connecticut).

If it's neither one of those (and given the history of the area, there is a small potential it could be something else), please send me an email and I'll go have a look, perhaps on a Sunday walk.

3. Ron B