Why is my dill turning yellow and veggies stopped growing?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by Beverly Dunne, Jul 30, 2009.

1. Beverly Dunne

Beverly Dunne Member

I am somewhat new to gardening in BC. I have planted a vegetable garden in the same spot (not quite full sun) for 4 years with varying luck. Last year everything was fabulous --- lots and lots of greens of all kinds, herbs galore, nice tall dill, huge parsley, vigorous basil plants, tomatoes, cukes, cabbage, kale, chard, leeks, and more.

This year, some lettuces are doing well and we are eating them daily but the mixed greens and herbs are growing slowly or not at all. Dill came up about 10 inches and now is turning yellow. Summer savory is doing a bit better but not tall. Tarragon is okay. Parsley is growing a little but not vigorously. Basil has small leaves. Arugula not doing well. Mesclun mixes not doing well. Spinach just came up and went to seed early. Beets stopped growing. I have some kale and chard but the plants seem to be growing very slowly and heads are forming slowly. Peas and beans are doing very well. Zucchini doing very well. I am also getting cukes and the vines have lots of flowers.
    The plants around the edge of the garden e.g. near the fence are doing best. The ones in the middle are stunted. I am watering every 2-3 days with a sprinkler --- usually for about 2 hours. The soil drains very well.
    Although in past years I have added bags and bags of compost and manure, the soil still seems very sandy to me (compared to Manitoba loam). I didn't add anything this year.

I am suspecting lack of manure, possibly not enough water, possibly the greens and herbs need more shade?

Advice would be much appreciated as I really rely on my fresh greens and herbs all summer. So disappointing not to get lots of dill.

2. Pasquale

Pasquale Active Member

It sound to me that your soil lacks of nutrients; try some "miracle-Gro" and your plants will thank-you for it.