What type of plant should I get?

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by PinkHibiscus, Nov 2, 2008.

1. PinkHibiscus

PinkHibiscus Member

I am fairly recent to the word of gardening. I'm in 3rd year university and just discovered that gardening is a great way to avoid studying :P

Right now I have a spider plant, an aloe vera, an ivy, a hibiscus and random leafy plant that I got at a grocery store.

I was looking for some suggestions of what plants I could add to my collection. My apartment gets lots of sunlight in the afternoon and all the plants get moved outside in the summer.

I dont mind if the plant is a little high maintenance. Ive actually been enjoying taking care of my rather tempermental hibiscus.

Thanks!

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

african violets are pretty easy care and like lots of sunlight.

jade plants are SUPER easy care and love sunlight. actually anything in the crassula family would be good and there are hundreds to choose from. also the kalanchoe family - easy care and a huge variety to choose from.

the wandering jews (tradescantia family) would be good - quite a few different types also.

3. PinkHibiscus

PinkHibiscus Member

Would those be types of plants that I could get at this time of year? Or would I be better to wait until spring time?

Also, where would I be able to find them? Obviously, I would like to avoid walmart and grocery stores since the plants arent always healthy.

4. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

Orchids!

5. greenthumb95

greenthumb95 Active Member

You have a nice sellection already, but some sort of palm, a pothos, and a bromeliad are good additions.

6. joclyn

someone in your area would be able to suggest greenhouses to go to. buying from home depot or lowes is okay - you just need to find out when they get their shipments in and make sure you go there within a couple days of delivery and the plants should be in decent shape (not there long enough to be overwatered yet).