"Un-bonsai'd" Calamondin Orange???

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Mitramonday, Jun 17, 2016.

1. Mitramonday

Mitramonday New Member

The fact that I am a novice will become immediately apparent when I say that I didn't know that Calamondin Orange trees were a form of Bonsai! That said, I purchased a healthy plant online and proceeded to immediately re-pot it, as I had read (somewhere) that they like to spread their roots in a wide, rather than deep, pot. I couldn't find a wide and shallow pot, but carried on regardless. Now I have two, very healthy, but gargantuan branches growing out of the original plant, with leaves that must be eight times the size of their counterparts!!! Apart from anything else, it looks ridiculous and not what I was after at all. So, what can I do now? Can I re-pot it back into a smaller pot and prune off these appendages?!
    There is now, also, some (small) sign of leaf curl and a couple of holes in some leaves....what should I be doing about them? (Apologies for the blurry photos!) (I am in the UK)
    IMG_1140 (1).jpg IMG_1141 (1).jpg IMG_1142 (1).jpg IMG_1143 (1).jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2016
  2. thanrose

thanrose Active Member 10 Years

Your plant selection is, or was, a bonsai. It was potted and pruned to keep it very small. Giving it a better pot with more room to grow gave it the opportunity to be the plant it was supposed to be before the bonsai efforts. You could repot in the original pot, or one slightly larger, but you would have to prune the larger shoots and selectively prune the roots. This is Fortunella genus if I recall correctly, but like those in Citrus genus, can drop leaves with little provocation. I'd expect leaf loss when you transplant back to bonsai status, but it should recover.

Mitramonday likes this.
  3. Mitramonday

Mitramonday New Member