Snake bark and sun sceen SPF 15 or 45

Discussion in 'Maples' started by richardbeasley@comcast.net, Oct 28, 2007.

1. richardbeasley@comcast.net

richardbeasley@comcast.net Active Member Maple Society

I am new to snake barks and I have never seen one where I live or any where for that matter. So I was wondering about the bark being striped or having white strations (correct my spelling please) my ? is, could the sun damage the bark. If so, should I screen the bark until the tree has enough of a canopy to protect it's self, bearing in mind I live in Virginia which is very hot in the summer. Thanks for looking at my post.

2. whis4ey

whis4ey Well-Known Member 10 Years

I wouldn't have thought so Richard, but no doubt those with a better knowledge of your climate will give you the benefit of their wisdom
    This is 'Serpentine' which is two years old with me ... albeit in some sort of shade, and unused to much heat from the sun in any event :)

Attached Files:

3. alex66

alex66 Rising Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

My two Capillipes are in sun for many hours ,not covered no problems this photo is Davidii "Cascade"not bark problems ..Ciao alex

Attached Files:

4. Poetry to Burn

Poetry to Burn Active Member

I have grown a stripe-bark in a pot for about 10yrs. Whenever i kept it in a sunny spot the leaves suffered by mid July or so. I did not notice any bark damage from too much sun rather it seemed like an understory tree naturally preferring filtered sunlight. Some sources advise protecting the bark from winter sun especially. Also, the leaves are good sized and i've avoided windy spots.

The tree i am growing was labeled Acer x tegmentosum 'White tigress'. Source was Fairweather in SNJ.