slugs... Slugs... SLUGS everywhere...

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by mcdoidge, Sep 17, 2010.

1. mcdoidge

mcdoidge Member

My cabbages, brussel sprouts, broccoli, lettuce... even some green onions are being viciously attacked all of a sudden.

I have a huge amount of eggshell spread at the base of (almost) every plant (I am a big baker so have LOTS of eggshell). I have pennies (older than 1980) spread around two entire rows (in circles around the base of the plants). I ALSO have that copper wire spread around two rows as well.... nothing seems to be stoping these little black slugs?! I also did the toilet paper roll thing around the base of every plant.

I tried some beer traps a few weeks ago and caught a few, but this seems ineffective in the rain?

Just went out there this morning and the plants are being swarmed!!

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Meghan

2. Lysichiton

Lysichiton Active Member

Thoughts? Not really. Sympathy, yes.
    The most sucessful people I know in the field of slug control, are those who manually pick them, consistently. The one drops them in a bucket of salty water to fill them, the other uses regular water, fills the bucket to brim & puts a tight fitting lid on it. Paying children works well for both slugs & snails. Don't tell the LRB though & be sure to carry WCB, liability insurance & submit your HST return quarterly.

Don't look at me as an example. I just do spot control manually, use the new-fangled slug bait, the old stuff in oatmeal (works better IMO) as well, whine & complain etc.

gb

3. Barbara Lloyd

Barbara Lloyd Well-Known Member

My sympathies also. It sounds like your doing just about everything.

You say you bake a lot - have you ever seen The best Washington State slug recipes by Frank R Howard (Author)?