Sick Hedges and Pine Tree - Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Woody Plants' started by thebigbuck, Mar 25, 2008.

1. thebigbuck

thebigbuck Member

Yes please. I have purchased a home with nice plants and am learning as fast as I can regarding what to do to keep everything healthy. I have two major problems and I need some help please.

First, my hedges are starting to die and I do not know the cause. There is an area that looks great and then all of the sudden they turn into an area that is without many leaves and look dead. There are small brown spots all over the hedges, both on the healthy ones and the areas that are dying. Last year I sprayed the hedges with Bayer which was supposed to kill mold but obviously that did not help. Please see the following link for pictures: http://picasaweb.google.com/The.Waits.Family/PlantTrouble

Second, I have a pine tree (not sure of the official name) and the top part has started to look dead. I sprayed and killed bag worms on these trees last year with Sevin. That is all I have done and this seems to have happened very quickly. Again, see the pictures in the link above.

Again, I am very new to all of this but really want to know the proper treatment and to learn more. Please advise if I have posted this in the wrong area but not positive what these plants actually are. I really appreciate your time and help.

Thanks, Paul.

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

The 'pine' is a juniper; the brown foliage is dead and won't recover. Not enough detail visible to determine the cause. Best prune it out. The remaining green foliage looks healthy.

3. thebigbuck

thebigbuck Member

Michael,

Many thanks. I will prune it out immediately. I wish I could determine the cause. Anything I can do to provide better evidence to help diagnose the root cause?

4. mrtree

mrtree Active Member