Sea soil for planter?

Discussion in 'Soils, Fertilizers and Composting' started by Chuck Bates, Apr 1, 2008.

1. Chuck Bates

Chuck Bates Member

A garden centre I rely on told me sea soil would make the best soil for my large planters that I'll be growing Jasminum Stephanense and Persian vine. Would a 1/3 each of sea soil, manure and sand be the ticket? How about compost?

Any other ideas?

p.s. $10 a bag at this garden centre seems a lot. Anyone out there know of where I could find a supplier in the Lower Mainland of bulk sea soil? I need approx. 29 cu. ft.

Thanks!

2. JCardina

JCardina Active Member

Comox, Vancouver Island, British Columbia Canada
    My personal experience with Sea Soil is that it will quickly turn rock hard on it's own in an indoor pot. I purchased Sea Soil "potting soil" recommended at the garden center last summer and now I have to repot some plants with a *lot* of amendment because they turned into blocks of concrete.

I'm no expert but what you describe sounds like a wise idea with this stuff. Aside from being ultra black and *looking* really nice, I'm not sure how much it's actually better than other alternatives.

3. growest

growest Active Member 10 Years

Hi Chuck--an experienced nurseryman on Saltspring mentioned that they used seasoil and perlite for almost all their container plants, with excellent results.

Personally I'd be leery of manure and sand, hard to say what the results would be. My understanding is the seasoil is pretty balanced, only needs some extra porosity as mentioned, to avoid that concrete texture after awhile! You can get big bags of perlite from Evergro for about $12, just keep adding till it looks "right"...

I've noticed bulk seasoil at Art's Nursery in Port Kells, yes that would be cheaper than in bags if you can transport it.

4. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years