resin canal i.d. in pines

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by marguerite, Oct 6, 2007.

1. marguerite

marguerite Member

Hello, I'm new to looking in the microscope and I'm stuck on the resin canal part of this i.d. We have been keying out a 2 needled pine with the bark, cone and habit of descriptions of pinus resinosa and pinus densiflora. We dissected a fat green needle in the hopes of seeing the resin canals on our sons amatuer microscope- They are there but they seem to count out at 10. Are resin canals a reliable diagnostic tool for pines? The botanical illustrations for densiflora (Japanese red pine) show 4 canals with a central vein that looks like a pigs nose...The botanical illustration for resinosa shows six canals with a vien that has two joined segments. Our needle cross section is a half circle with a oval central vein and I think 10 resin canals-Did we compress a circular vien in cutting it? Took many little slices and they are all that way...Can there be variation of resin canals within a type of pine? Thanks.. I have a long detailed explanation of the Pine of Mystery if that helps...

2. chimera

chimera Well-Known Member 10 Years

Welcome marguerite. Yes, 3-17 with P. nigra, according to Krussman's "Manual of Cultivated Conifers". An illustration in the book shows P. pinaster as having 10 resin canals ,maybe others do also. Pics of cones, bark, needles, habit and such may help somebody ID it. Mystery may help.

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Can you do a drawing of the cross-section? The exact position of the canals is also important for identification, whether external (against the outer hypodermis), internal (touching the inner endodermis), medial (in the green tissue touching neither the hypodermis nor the endodermis), or septal (in the green tissue touching both the hypodermis and the endodermis; only found in a few subtropical pines).

4. marguerite

marguerite Member