Planting in St. Lucia

Discussion in 'Outdoor Tropicals' started by englak, Jun 3, 2008.

1. englak

englak Active Member 10 Years

I'd like to learn more about the plants that grow in St. Lucia. Does anyone have a good resource? I'm thinking that a contact at a St. Lucia nursery, or gardening book for the island would be helpful.

2. SWhite3726

SWhite3726 Member

How to grow anything in St. Lucia

Hi everyone, I have just moved to St. Lucia from the UK and want to start growing my own produce. I am not a complete novice but I can't seem to find any info on growing any type of veg/fruit etc here at all. Obviously the climate will help me greatly, but any generalised info would be appreciated. I wish to be fairly self sufficient so crops like carrots, potato, onions etc but also the more unusual type of veg like christofene, etc. Fruit would be wonderful to try as in the UK that wasn't much of an option! Would like to grow grapefruit, limes, would love to try apples etc but need to know how the climate could affect this in any adverse way etc. Any help appreciated, thanks a lot all,

3. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Alright - first things first. Let's state the obvious: you're on a tropical island, so you have two seasons instead of four. Accordingly, some things must be planted in season and others are not restricted. It would help to know what you're trying to grow, and how much space you have to grow it in.

Guidelines: things that are not season-dependant include Lettuces and other leafy greens, peppers, tomatoes, squash, and most of the rest of the traditional UK kitchen-garden veg crops that grow above-ground. Same goes for herbs. Tomatoes in particular will probably want shade cloth over them to preven the leaves from burning. Strawberries are also possible, as are passionfruits.