Plantation in Morocco (redwoods + oak)

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by benkabs, Feb 2, 2011.

1. benkabs

benkabs Member

Hello,

I am a farmer in Morocco. I have planted organic olive trees an other locals plants (prickly pears, pomegranate) in the Haouz valley in Morocco, at the foothills of the Atlas.
    We experience a continental weather with cold winter (it does freeze but very rarely and never less than 30° F) and a hot and dry summer ( it can get up to 115°F with warm winds). But, the soil is very good loam and very fertile. Also, I have established a good irrigation system.

I have currently several redwood trees, that I love so so so much as well as some black oak and california live oak trees. There are still in pots and doing pretty well. The planting season will start soon in our mild spring and I am planning on planting them in my ranch.

I would simply like to know first if those trees would make it in my ranch with sufficient irrigation and if so, what would be the best way to plant them.

Thank you in advance for your help.

I am looking forward to reading you replies.

YB

2. benkabs

benkabs Member

The temperature I gave for the summer are only during heat waves, otherwise it is around 90 to 100°F.
    Thanks for your help!

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

I'm not familiar with those temperature listings (do use °C, no need to feel obliged to pander to US ideas!). But why Californian Live Oak and Redwood? Why not local native species like Holm Oak, Araar, and Moroccan Cypress? They will be much better suited to the climate. What altitude are you at?

Moroccan Cypress, Oued-n-Fiis:

Attached Files:

4. benkabs

benkabs Member

Thank for your reply. I am using F° because I didn't know that you were using Celcius in Canada. Sweet, it makes it easier for me ;)