Peaches on Vancouver island

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by axon54, Oct 23, 2008.

1. axon54

axon54 Member

I am new to the island and would love to grow my own peach. Any varieties better than others? Any tips on avoiding black spot? Thanks for any help.

2. woodschmoe

woodschmoe Active Member 10 Years

The main problem locally seems to be leaf curl. While there are a few varieties reputed to be resistant (best to inquire at your local nursery; the variety 'Frost' seems to be popular), I've been most impressed with the "Empress" variety of dwarf peach. Compact bush, quite productive, and you can fit a number of them against a warm wall as a sort of peach hedge. Mine have been in the ground for 3 years and suffered no leaf curl or other disease issues, while peaches of other varieties in the neighbourhood have succumbed to the various and sundry afflictions that seem to plague peaches in this climate. Dinter's nursery in Duncan usually carries them as bare root stock in the spring.

3. tallclover

tallclover Member

I think Vashon Island (Puget Sound) peach growers and Vancouver Island peach growers may be in the same boat in searching out leaf curl resistant varieties. I've listed the cultivars I'm growing with good results in the cool maritime climate of the Pacific Northwest.

Leaf Curl Resistant Peach Trees: http://tallcloverfarm.com/?p=114

4. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years