Novice Gardner w/ Struggling Meyer-Lemon Tree

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by Craigo, May 23, 2019.

1. Craigo

Craigo New Member

Hello all,
    I’m a novice gardener and I’d very much appreciate some direction in regards to my struggling lemon tree. I’ve had it for about 7 months or so, but it is about 3 years old I believe. I keep it indoors by a southwest(ish) facing window where the temperature is in the low 70s. A few months into its stay here I noticed it had stared to loose leaves. I was mindful of over watering (only watered when the first couple of inches were dry - about every week to 10 days) and so I initially thought it was perhaps due to a lack of light, so I got it a UV light. While growing about 7 lemons, it still continued to lose leaves and I eventually discovered fungus gnats after misidentifying them as fruit flies. I got a yellow sticky paper and bought a neem oil spray in case there were aphids I was unaware of, but eventually had to call in the cavalry and incorporate beneficial nematodes (about two months ago) which seemed to do the trick.

It continued to struggle so I got a moisture meter and discovered that while the top soil would register around a 4 or 5 before I was going to water it, a little deeper it’d spike right over to 12. So, I took a risk and repotted it (i understand this could’ve been a shock to it) with fast draining potting soil for citrus.

I guess my question is: what should I be doing to create the best conditions for recovery? Should I nix the UV light and maybe move it away from the window to let it rest? Will pruning the fruit help it focus on its stems and leaf growth? It’s getting warmer her outside (about in the 80s low 90s), should I start letting it sit outside in the sunlight? I’d like to say “thank you” in advance for your responses and guidance. Wish I had found this forum about 6 months ago! Regards, Craig.

Additional info:
    Soil temperature is generally in the high 60s.