New member in Virginia, from PacNW....

Discussion in 'Conversations Forum' started by Articulady, Jun 16, 2005.

1. Articulady

Articulady Member

Hi all,

I joined the forum a week or 2 ago and thought I should say hello formally and introduce myself. I am originally from Seattle and have lived in the South for a shred over 3 years. I've been a gardening hobbyist (is that a real term?) for 25 years or so, but pretty much all in Seattle and parts of Coastal California. Down here, I am learning all over again it seems, about native plants, the humid summers and very cold winters, new bugs I've never seen before and all sorts of other climate related issues - including my own inability to handle humidity. How does one do landscaping and other gardening from June until September without going outside??

My husband and I bought a house about 6 months ago, and I have been desperately dividing my time between getting the house together, taking care of our 3 year-old, running my part-time home-based business, and landscaping. The lot was "blanked over" with mulch some months before we bought and there have been a number of surprises struggling up through the deep mulch - a thus far unidentified lily which looks like it'll be blooming within a week or 2, a daylily also unidentified, multiple blueberries, blackberries, a few sad glads, tulips, daffodils...and of course quite a few "native' species that I know almost nothing about yet, plus loads of mature hardwoods - red oak, white oak, numerous maple varieties plus again, some species I am not yet familiar with.