Identification: More mushrooms from northern New Mexico

Discussion in 'Fungi, Lichens and Slime Molds' started by allelopath, Sep 14, 2004.

1. allelopath

allelopath Well-Known Member 10 Years

This is so much fun and my id book (Audobon Field Guide to North American Mushrooms) doesn't help much, so...2 more
    Carson National Forest, Taos, New Mexico, USA
    8000 ft asl (~2400m)
    Pine/Fir forest floor.

Attached Files:

2. grndenim

grndenim Member

Greetings from Mora, NM - also at 8000 ft. I am new to these mountains and to this website. I have not yet seen your mushrooms, but my husband and I went searching last evening and found small (2 in. dia.) straw-colored mushrooms with slim stalks and yellow, sponge-like gills. Any info?

(see entry) Carole (grndenim@nnmt.net)

3. allelopath

allelopath Well-Known Member 10 Years

Hi Carole,

If you think you're going to be looking for fungi a lot, I recommend getting the book "Mushrooms of Colorado and the southern Rocky Mountiins" by Vera Evenson. One bookstore here in Taos has it (either Brodsky books or Moby Dickens, I can't remember). Get it quick, peak is right now.

Identifying fungi _with_ photos is difficult enough, I won't even try to guess based on words. When you do post a photo, also mention the enviroment you found it in (substrate, altitude, species of surrounding trees...).

Also, I recommend you edit your last post. Change your email address to "grndenim at nnmt dot net". This way it is more protected from bot collection, but it is still readable to a human.

Not sure what you mean by (see entry)

4. Mycos

Mycos Active Member

Sounds like a small Suillus or, as the group of fleshy mushrooms having pores instead of gills is more commonly called, a Bolete. Some of them can be very slimy. The Slippery Jack (Suillus luteus) get's it's name for precisely that quality. Here's a key to the genus.

5. Mycos

Mycos Active Member

Wish I could help, but.....