British Columbia: Mason Bees

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Annell, Feb 26, 2008.

1. Annell

Annell Active Member

I am wondering if anyone in the lower mainland, particularly the north shore can give me some practical advice about mason bees. I am getting a cottage and 20 bees and I have neve looked after mason bees before. I am also getting a book of course, but it's always so much better to talk with people who have actually looked after bees.

My big question is where to locate their home. the North side of the house? shade, part sun, full sun?

I know the book will tell me, but again I'd love to hear from people who've had/have bees and gain their advice and suggestions.

I want to plan for their arrival. Any adivce would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Anne

2. Anne58

Anne58 Active Member

Hi Anne (another "Anne with an "e"" I see :o) )

I have been keeping mason bees for over 5 years now. I have our nesting boxes in the shade of the house eave on the south side of the house. At Burnaby Village there is a large building that has cedar siding on the east side that is a huge mason bee nesting area so it gets all the morning sun in the spring.

I usually empty out the straws they use for nesting about this time of the year. I always worry about the ones at the back of the straws having to wait for the ones at the front to exit and sometimes the middle or front bees don't survive for one reason. or another

I put the cocoons in a small box and tie the box to the top of the nesting box. The bees emerge when they are ready, mid to late march for the males and a bit after that for the females.

I make up new straws during the winter by wrapping newspaper around a pencil and securing with a small pieces of scotch tape. I have all the new straws in the nest boxes by the time the females emerge.