Identification: Maple in our yard

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Norman Nelson, Jun 26, 2021.

1. Norman Nelson

Norman Nelson New Member

Hi, Newbie here. We are moving after 32 years and leaving our beloved tree. Want to sprout some seeds to take some with us. Need info on how to sprout. The keys are at there peak around fathers day and further into the summer pests will get to them all. I'm in Sunnyvale, CA, USA. Hoping for some good advice.

TIA
    Norm

Attached Files:

2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

Good morning Norman and welcome to the maples forum. First of all your samaras are not ripe until they turn brown. So you will need to place as many as you can in a seed tray full of compost with chicken wire over the top to stop pests getting to them. Then leave them in the garden until October. Basically you are replicating how they would lay after dropping on the ground to ripen.
    Then in October place in a bag of moist compost in a bag in your refrigerator until early Spring, when you can cut off the wings and sow in a good free draining seed compost. You will see which are viable by how much the seed has swollen. This is how I sort out what to sow.

A few months later you will then see the signs of the coteledon leaves appear. It is at this point I pot mine up into individual small 9cm pots.
    Then leave them in a sheltered position and water only when necessary. Do not over water.

In two years you will then have a tree or two or more to chose for your garden.
    But do realise that any seedlings are 'unlikely' to be a perfect clone of your present tree in your garden.

For that to happen I would consider air layering if you have a few months before you move house. There are some excellent tutorials on this on YouTube, so I won't go into it here atm.

Hope thats of help.

D

Margot, emery and Cjart like this.
  3. AlainK

AlainK Renowned Contributor Forums Moderator Maple Society 10 Years