Lucky bamboo woes

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by NordicPriestess, Oct 2, 2007.

1. NordicPriestess

NordicPriestess Member

Hey all, I'm new. I'm a college student living in a dorm, and thus, I appreciate my plants very much.

I have a lucky bamboo (dracaena sanderiana) plant, that I have had for two years without any problems. It had some yellow-tipped leaves for a bit, but once I figured out what to do about that, it was fine.

Lately, however, one of its stalks (are they stalks?) is turning completely yellow and pale. It is also a little soft, not as firm as the healthier stalk it curls around. Also, by its leaves, there is a softer dark brown spot (small), that I'm worried is rot.

I keep the plant away from my window, but in a good spot to catch indirect light. My room is generally cooler than average indoor temperatures, but that has never caused a problem in the past. Also, I water it with Brita filtered water, though I admit I don't change the water completely very often.

What should I do about the yellowing stalk?

Here are some pics if they help. Sorry, they are of pretty poor quality; I don't have a digital camera so I used my friend's webcam.

The yellow stalk.

A "close up" of the brown spot.

2. edleigh7

edleigh7 Well-Known Member

3. NordicPriestess

NordicPriestess Member

Thanks. Would that be from the minerals of the water, though? I don't give it food.

I'll change the water out and wash things and post back with progress. Any other thoughts/suggestions are welcome as well, though.

4. NordicPriestess

NordicPriestess Member

Two further questions...

If it had root rot, would the roots look differently than the healthy roots? When I changed the water this morning, I examined the roots and they all looked fairly healthy.

Also, should I put that stalk in a separate vase, so it doesn't affect the other stalks?

5. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

6. NordicPriestess

NordicPriestess Member