How to get soil tested in Vancouver?

Discussion in 'Soils, Fertilizers and Composting' started by missbrown, Feb 13, 2003.

1. missbrown

missbrown Member

Hi all! I'm new to gardening. My yard is new to gardening as well -- mostly just grass and a few big cedar trees, and the soil seems very sandy with a lot of rocks in it. I would like to prepare some new beds. All the gardening books seem to recommend testing the soil before doing anything. Does anyone know of any Vancouver companies/labs that offer soil testing services specifically for gardeners? Any other suggestions regarding soil prep?

Thanks,
    Miss Brown

2. Douglas Justice

Douglas Justice Well-Known Member UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society 10 Years

I don't want to discourage you from getting your soil tested if you really want to, but...

In general, upland soils in the Vancouver area are typically acidic, shallow and nutrient poor. In many cases, they are composed of sand and gravel layers (the result of receding glaciers 10,000 years ago) and a thin covering of organic material that is mixed to some extent with the underlying material. Amending typical Vancouver soils so that ornamentals thrive, means adding organic matter (partially rotted leaves, etc.); for vegetables, lime is added to reduce acidity, and higher quality decomposed organic matter (such as composted kitchen waste) is needed for good results.

Soils derived from lake or river sediments (e.g., Richmond and some of the flatter parts of the Lower Mainland) tend to be deeper, finer textured (more silt and clay) and more fertile.

If the soil in your yard is native, undisturbed soil (i.e., not subsoil left after the organic layers have been stripped off, which is typical on newer construction sites), or composed of manufactured "soil," the addition of well-rotted organic matter is probably all you would need to give ornamentals a good start.