Growing Hops

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by Mary1942, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Mary1942

Mary1942 Member

Greetings,
    I'm new to this idea of Forums, so please bear with me. I'm a nun living in Northwestern New Mexico and our monastery was advised to try growing hops as an income producing work. Our Monastery is at 6,800 feet, i.e. high desert. Can someone tell me if we could grow hops at this altitude in New Mexico. Thanks Peace. Sr. Mary

2. Acoma

Acoma Active Member

The latitude of growing hops dictates its success. 35-55 degree latitude is best, or else assistance to nature in needed.

Is the area for hops already set up?

Do you have the rhizomes for planting?

How much area exist?

3. Mary1942

Mary1942 Member

Thanks for the info.

We are hoping to get started this summer, but don't have anything set up yet.

Our location is the northwest corner of New Mexico about 15 to 20 miles south of the Colorado border. The elvation is 6,800 to 7,000 feet. Winter temps get down to about 10 degrees at times, but like everywhere else weather is unpredictable and we bounce back between cold winter and 65 degree summer.

We hope to be able to grow about an acre of the hops, but don't know if that would be feasible at this altitude. Also how long of a summer do they really need and how much direct sunlight and how sensitive are they to moderately strong winds?
    All comments and suggestions are appreciated.
    Peace s.Mary

4. Acoma

Acoma Active Member

You need to set up the area before you start worrying about growing the hops. Likely, you will be too late this year for growing since you will need to have it in now. Go on the web and type growing hops in New Mexico. You should see good instructions. Get a reliable source for purchasing the rhizomes.