Grape Varieties Help

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by PaulFishman, Apr 14, 2013.

1. PaulFishman

PaulFishman Member

Hi,
    I am new to growing grapes, I live in Coquitlam BC. I am planning on planting some and need a bit of advice on varieties. I want to be able to eat them off the vine. If I can make wine in a few years, that may be a bonus, but not my first priority. The varieties I am looking at at Art Knapps are - Pinot Gris, Flame, Niagara, Himrod, Valiant. My first question is about pollination. The Valiant say they are self pollinating, the others do not. I was told that I should put two different varieties together for pollination. Is this right? I have a trellus 10ft x 10ft - 6 ft high and the ground is quite wet so I will build two boxes about 1ft X 2ft - 1ft deep, 1 on each side, and plant two in each. Is this a good idea? So I am thinking one Pinot Gris and one Niagara in each, but I am looking for suggestions. What tastes better, grows better, earlier? Or is there a better place to buy them from?
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. sgbotsford

sgbotsford Active Member 10 Years

Valiant is not a good table grape. The taste is good, but they are small, thick skinned, and very seedy.

I think you need bigger boxes than that. I'd suggest 4-8 cubic feet per vine. Look at the spacing in commercial vineyards. Typically plants are up to 8 feet apart in row, and rows are 6-8 apart. That means a commercial grape is using 30-60 square feet of ground. I don't know how deep grape roots go. But look into it. If they tend to deep roots, you may be able to grow some kind of cover between them.

3. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years

Grapes like soil with good drainage. If your soil is wet, as you've stated, then grapes will probably not do very well. Most fruits need soil with good drainage; the only exception that I can think of is the blueberry.

4. sgbotsford

sgbotsford Active Member 10 Years