first time friend

Discussion in 'Conversations Forum' started by amazingmumo, Mar 14, 2006.

1. amazingmumo

amazingmumo Member

Hello every body, am so glad to join your form...
    i am an Egyptian landscaping engineer working in Saudi Arabia and i am so interested in starting a professional bisiness in selling and propagating of indoor plants ...
    is there any one can help me to contact some sources can share me or investment in the mentioned subject...
    thnx for accepting me as a friend in the forum

2. oscar

oscar Active Member

Hi amazingmumo
    Before you even consider starting the bussiness, i would suggest you do some market research.....is there a big demand for house plants...which plants do well there....is water going to be easily sourced....there is lots to consider...maybe even get a job in a nursery there, just to learn a bit about the Industry.

3. amazingmumo

amazingmumo Member

Dear Oscar
    thans alot for your concern... i would like to inform you that am working in this field 18 years ago and it is a very good business here in Gulf countries therefore i wanted to have some unique source to be a partner to produce that plants or at least supply me with cuttings, plants and annual flowers seeds.
    Yucca, draceana, monestra,diffenbachiae,philodendron,spathyphiluum and more other plannts sold here daily in huge numbers... that all what i can say now.
    thanks again for your concern

4. Rima

Rima Active Member

What you do need to do is look into importing plants because your country may have very strict regulations about which ones can and cannot be brought in, possibly with special certificates, or bare-rooted etc, and if people send you cuttings without either the proper paperwork or without declaring what's in the packages, they may be thrown out at the border.

5. Dunc

Dunc Active Member