Eastern White Pine Help

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by tonyts, May 10, 2006.

1. tonyts

tonyts Member

First off I must say that it is a pleasure to fine such a wealth of knowledge and reading has been a pleasure here. I am new to the tree world and possibly in a bit over my head.

Here's my deal, I am located in Northern NJ and planted 8 Eastern While Pines in October of 05. The trees in my opinion were not planted in the best of conditions in regards to soil. A 2' mound of bankrun but I did dig the holes 2x the size of root ball and fill remaining with a mix of topsoil and peat moss. My first problem was I did not remove the burlap on root ball. I did on one tree and found the whole root falling apart so opted not to remove remaining. Will this be a problem with rooting? How much time will they take to root?

Second I have a couple of trees showing problems. The first wilted a month after planting and to be honest I counted her out but she is still hanging on. This tree is first in line and does see substantial wind at times. The second tree is showing some brown needles at the top and this started about 2 weeks ago. And the third tree suffered some ice damage and a couple drooping limbs that have not recovered.

I have been watering these trees every third day using a drip hose and a week ago I converted to a plain hose and watering each tree manually due to dry weather. I also did fertilize and much.

Any ideas or comment since I would hate to loose any

Pics attached

Thanks!
    Tony

Attached Files:

2. Dixie

Dixie Active Member