Dracaena Marginata Help

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by NewPlantMama, Jul 5, 2018.

1. NewPlantMama

NewPlantMama New Member

Hello! I am very new to gardening and have a few questions about my new Dracaena Marginata.

When I first got this plant the leaves were erect and now (a few weeks later) they're drooping. Also some of the tips are turning brown, and some have breakage (which I have been pruning). I read the breakage can be due to lack of moisture in the air. I live in a small NYC apartment, and sometimes I have a box fan in the window which blows on the leaves. I just bought a spray bottle to help keep it moist. I think I may also have been watering it incorrectly- I read they do not need a lot of water but when I water it I give it the equivalent of a large water bottle- I think it may need more water when it does get water? Unfortunately, as it is NYC summer, there is chlorine and fluoride in the water. Also it is by a sunny window, and I have read mixed things about Dracaena's sun needs. The leaves on the side that got sun turned paler so I rotated the plant. Lastly, I noticed some white spots under the leaves, which I originally thought may be bugs. However, when I wiped them the towel was very dirty so I think it may have been just dirt.

Can you all please tell me if I am on the right track? What should I do about drooping leaves and breakages? What is the correct water cycle? Or am I just being anxious and it is still acclimating to it's new environment?

Thank you!!

Attached Files:

2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Welcome to the forums.