Coloring + plants?

Discussion in 'Plants: Science and Cultivation' started by Alex D, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Alex D

Alex D Member

Hi
    I'm an art student and the spring has inspired me to think about plants and the relation between them and urban space.

I was wondering whether adding some sort of coloring to the soil or whatnot would produce an effect in plants. I remember making a leave red when I was a kid but I'm not sure whether it would work on a larger scale and without cutting anything off. Anyone got an idea?

It goes without saying that I wanna use coloring that is non-toxic of course.
    Would injecting some amounts of beta-carotene work and be safe for the plant?

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

Like turning a pink hydrangea into a blue one?

I suppose the first question is: is the intent to attempt to colour plants already in the ground or is the intent to adjust the colour of flowers in a vase or similarly coloured environment? (if the former, I've plenty of experience of turning green plants into brown ones).

3. Alex D

Alex D Member

No the hydrangea 'effect' isnt really what I'm going for. Unless there are more plants that show different colouring when changing the pH of the soil?

What I'm really trying to go for, hypothetically speaking, is making a tree's leaves in a park turn red.
    I remember when I was little, I had this book with all sorts of activities and one of them was cutting off a branch with a few leaves, putting it in a vase with water + red paint and watching the leaves turn red (a bit). That was crappy paint though, so it only worked primarily on the nerves. Probably because the paint-particles were too thick to enter the plants finer nerves etc.