Black spot question

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by galiano, Jan 4, 2006.

1. galiano

galiano Active Member

I have an arbour with Climbing Blossomtime on one side. It's 2 years old and was thriving until this past year when it was hit badly by blackspot. It lost most of it's leaves, although a few at the top seem to be clear of any problems. The vines have splotches almost down to the mature wood near the base. Is there any hope for this plant or should I dig it up and start with a new one ? Would cutting it right back to maybe a foot or so above the ground save it ? I am new to roses and don't know if blackspot will spread from the branches to the leaves or to the Climbing White Dawn on the other side of the arbour. Any help would be much appreciated.

2. HortLine

HortLine Active Member 10 Years

The black spot fungus thrives in moist conditions, so try to avoid wetting the leaves during the growing season. Prune plants well to increase air circulation. Once symptoms appear, black spot is very difficult to control. Rake and remove leaves and affected canes in the fall, do not compost the leaves. Before buds start to form in winter, apply a lime sulphur solution (1 part to nine parts water). If the disease persists during the growing season, try spraying a solution of baking soda (1 tbsp in 4 litres of water) mixed with one tablespoon of horticulture oil to make it adhere to the leaves. This can be repeated several times throughout the growing season.
    Black spot is very difficult to control, if it persists more than two years in a row, it may be prudent to plant a more disease resistant variety. Two good sources for disease resistant roses in the Pacific Northwest are:
    Roses for British Columbia by Brad Jalbert; 2003
    Roses for the Pacific Northwest by Christine Allen; 1999

3. galiano

galiano Active Member