Ailing Meyer Lemon

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by rbirkner, Feb 6, 2013.

1. Hi Everyone,

I am a rookie gardener struggling to properly take care of a new-to-me Meyer Lemon plant. The tree (which I would call a bush at this point due to its limb organization) is from Monrovia nurseries and was given to me as a Christmas gift just a couple of months ago. It has been living inside my apartment next to the brightest window that I have and appeared to be happy up until a few weeks ago. When it first arrived, it bloomed and then quickly shed its flowers (I wasn't concerned about that, because I'm not expecting it to fruit at this point, and it was most likely getting acclimatized to its new living conditions).

I noticed that the tree was dropping a lot of sticky, clear sap onto the surface where it was sitting and after investigation, I found that the tree was infested with a pest that I identified as soft brown scale (with some help from Google). It must have come from the nursery with the scale because I don't have any other plants at home that would have passed the bug along. The infestation was so significant that I couldn't prune away the affected areas to save the rest of the plant and it seemed like the next most common suggestion was to wipe down the surfaces of the plant with rubbing alcohol. This seemed crazy to me, but I followed the suggestions and manually removed hundreds of scale bugs and then wiped the whole plant down with rubbing alcohol. It seems that this was a bad idea - not that I'm overly surprised - and now the poor plant has lost all its leaves. The leaves didn't turn a different colour or show evidence of being 'eaten'; they simply wilted and fell off.