Aeonium growing

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by BBunker, Dec 1, 2006.

1. BBunker

BBunker Active Member

Here are some pictures of my Aeonium. The first picture was taken in Aug and the other two were taken last week. It is so cool to see the new little growth going on all over the plant. Anyone have any suggestions on how to propagate new plants from this one?

Attached Files:

2. Chester

Chester Active Member 10 Years

Is that definitely an aeonium? Looks escheverious to me, but I'm not an expert.

3. Rosemarie

Rosemarie Active Member

I don't know if I gave you a species name on this one when you first posted it, but seeing it now, I'd say it's Aeonium decorum 'Variegata'. As for propagating it...if you want to remove some pups to do it...cut off as close to mom as you can. Either set out to grow some roots before potting up or try sticking them in some soil. Just don't water them too much until you see some growth. Either mist them or very light watering.

4. BBunker

BBunker Active Member

I was hoping you would post a reply. No you did not give me an ID, but I found it's twin on a website that listed it as Aeonium decorum variegata. At least it gives me a name to call it.

Each of the pups is on the end of a stalk about 2 to 3 inches long. Do I cut it off where it connects to the mom? Should I wait till spring, or is this the time of year for Aeonium to grow?

5. Rosemarie

Rosemarie Active Member

Yes, it you can get some stem with it, that is better. Aeoniums are winter growers (as you can see), so now would be a good time! :)

6. BBunker

BBunker Active Member

This is one of my favorite plants, I think because of the interesting colors, all the new growth, and probably because it was one of the first succulents I bought. I'll try out what you said and see if I can get a new little plant.