Adenium Red, White or Pink?

Discussion in 'Caudiciforms and Pachycaul Trees' started by Chungii V, Nov 5, 2008.

1. Chungii V

Chungii V Active Member

HI,
    I've finally started seeing flower on my Adenium. The red and white are A. obesum the pink is A. arabicum. I've been growing these for a couple of years now and am glad they've actually turned out the colour they were supposed to be.
    I have grown some Adenium from seed I bought last year and they are doing very well. I have 40 plants out of 50 seeds after 11 mths... not too shabby. A couple are starting to flower already!
    I would like to start crossing my own colours to see what hybrids I can produce.
    I know these plants like to cross-pollinate but was wondering when the is best time to do so?
    Do I attack the flowers as soon as they open? They used to set seed very happily, in the Nursery I worked, by themselves jammed up on beds together. I've never really worried about trying to force pollination. Any suggestions or advice is appreciated.
    :}

Attached Files:

2. markinwestmich

markinwestmich Active Member

I started collecting the various species of Adenium the past few years. My A. multiflorum really grew this year since I transplanted it into a large pot and it flowered continuously from March until September. The caudex more than tripled in size over the summer. Most of the others are small seedlings yet. Interestingly, my A. somalense is about ready to bloom and is going strong while all my others are obviously entering their Fall/Winter rest period. I am still learning myself.

At any rate, one of the most complete references on the internet would be Tropica Nursery's site http://www.tropicanursery.com/adenium/about.htm Very good information on just about anything Adenium.

3. Chungii V

Chungii V Active Member