Identification: Cactus information

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by tnm1071, Jan 11, 2016.

1. tnm1071

tnm1071 New Member

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg Hi Everyone, This is my first time on and I'm trying to find a site that could help me identify what kind of cactus I have. Why is it starting to turn pale green? What is growing out the bottom sides? More cactus? I've had it about 4 years. My brother found it growing out of the pavers that went around the pool. I suppose it was from a bird dropping. That's how I acquired the cactus. I know I need more soil and I'm sure a bigger planter. The questions above are the ones I'm hoping to find answers on. Thank you for all your help and advice on this matter. :-) the top middle is what it looks like now and the 3rd pic in the 2nd row was about 2 weeks ago. Also, It does get sun just about all day. Could that play apart in what's going on? Why did it twist like that? Thank you again. I know it's a lot. Sorry

2. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

If you are giving the pot enough water for the leafy plant, then that's too much water for the cactus and it's probably why the cactus is going yellow. Those two need to not be in the same pot. The pot looks plenty large to me, but you can wrap something around the trunk (to protect yourself) and try to lift the pot away from the soil to see if the roots are filling the pot. The cactus can go without water until the pot feels quite light. The things at the bottom are new shoots (not sure of the proper word). Someone else will have to do the ID and comment on whether it should be branching out that low or if it's doing that thinking the main trunk is in trouble. I would think the twist is not a problem.

tnm1071 likes this.
  3. tnm1071

tnm1071 New Member

image.jpeg image.jpeg