Another Desert Rose problem

Discussion in 'Caudiciforms and Pachycaul Trees' started by Rick53, Nov 7, 2007.

1. Rick53

Rick53 Member

Mark,
    I've done what was suggested with the first one, cleaned all of the bad spots etc and re potted it. It seems to be doing OK.
    Now my other one is losing its leaves, yellowing, or turning brown. I haven't a as to what is going on or how to fix it. I have 3 others that seem to be doing fine. Any suggestions??
    This is my first attempt at trying anything other than African Violets.

2. markinwestmich

markinwestmich Active Member

What were you able to find when you repotted your first Adenium? Any root damage?

Can you post any close-up photos of the foliage?

Right now, my adeniums have significantly slowed their growth, and I anticipate them to begin dropping their leaves within then next few weeks. Dormancy should set in soon and should last until about March. Perhaps your adeniums are beginning to enter dormancy, as well.

3. Rick53

Rick53 Member

On the first plant, yes the caudex/base of the plant itself was rotten, I cut off the rotten roots and cleaned all off the bad parts of the caudex itself down to what appeared to be what was clean from rotted material, dusted it liberally with roottone, and replanted it. I waited 5 days until I watered it, and it appears to be doing OK. Now as far as the other plant goes. I didn't know these were deciduous. I do water these plants lightly every week, but check with a moisture meter to make sure they are fairly dry before I add additional water.
    The Plumeria has lost all its leaves already, so it stands to reason if the Desert Rose is also deciduous. By the way we live in Oregon and I brought these indoors a couple weeks ago and have them in a bathroom, do they need to be in a lower lighted location? I also have 6 or so epiphiliums which I brought in and they are in the laundry room, with no outside lighting.

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size: