Advice Needed on What To Do with These Compost Bins

Discussion in 'Soils, Fertilizers and Composting' started by tao, Feb 17, 2009.

1. tao

tao Active Member

I need some advice on what to do with composting. My dad has a backyard vegetable garden that has been his labour of love. However, his failing health makes it impossible for him to do any physical work this year and I decided to help him out. I have no gardening experience whatsoever and just started reading up on it.

My dad has a few compost bins. But it seems like he does not know how to do it properly, he added kitchen scraps and yard waste to them but stopped doing that about a year ago after he got the idea of burying the scraps directly in the garden. Two bins were obtained from the city of Vancouver, they are place in a shaded area without the lids on. When I looked into them, the piles only reached about 1/4, the top has scraps added from about a year ago and I can still identify the corn, the orange peel etc. I poked with a pitchfork and the middle is more decomposed and muddy-like.

Also in shade beside the bins, there is a pile with a wooden enclosure, one side panel of the enclosure is secured with wires and can be taken out easily to access the pile. My dad bought the enclosure over 20 years ago, and the wood is starting to rot. In fact, the top has fallen off, and a few pieces crumbled on touch. The side panel is likely to fall apart if I try to take it out. The content has been exposed for I don't know how long. However, when I looked in, the top is covered with some branches and twigs (see attached photo), beneath them are some fruit peels in more or less the original form, not composted. Only the very bottom has material that looks like finished compost.