Yellowing Alocasia Borneo King

Discussion in 'Araceae' started by Lion012, Jan 6, 2020.

1. Lion012

Lion012 New Member

Hello all,

I’m new to the plant game. I just bought a Borneo King Alocasia. And one of the leaves seem to be yellowing. I bought it with some sun damage but now I’m worried it could be fungus related. Other than this leaf it looks very green and it’s not dropping. The roots are also coming out from the bottom so I’m getting ready to get a bigger pot this spring. But considering it’s winter I don’t want to change it’s pot yet. I wonder if that has anything to do with it’s yellowing? Any help would be great! Thank you!
    upload_2020-1-6_21-34-20.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2020
  2. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

Is this an old leaf or a new leaf? It's not going to keep all its leaves forever - the old ones will die off. Maybe you can show us a photo of the whole plant.

By the way, I think this is Colocasia (maybe Colocasia gigantea?) rather than Alocasia. I was told on a botanical garden tour on O'ahu that it's Colocasia that have peltate leaves (that means that the stem attaches to the leaf underside inside the leaf margin, not at the margin).

3. Lion012

Lion012 New Member

Thank you! It could be. I was told by a friend that the Borneo king is a hybrid so it can stand some wintery temperatures. With that said, I haven’t been able to find much about it’s care. I hate to be that guy. But I’ve had success with plants before, so when I say it I couldn’t resist. This is the full plant. Please excuse the background. [ATTACHl]170459[/ATTACH] upload_2020-1-7_6-9-45.jpeg upload_2020-1-7_6-10-26.jpeg

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2020
  4. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

5. Tom Hulse

Tom Hulse Active Member 10 Years