Identification: Would like Red House Plant Identified (Photo to follow)

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by jake12121212, Jul 15, 2007.

1. jake12121212

jake12121212 Member

My mother has a red colored house plant I would like to identify. It appears to have no chlorophyll. Will try to attach two pictures. Jake. If file size is too small I can make it bigger. I am new to this "forums" culture so help would be appreciated. Jake from Ohio

Attached Files:

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

There is chlorophyll in the dark parts of the leaves: pink + green = dark purple.

3. jake12121212

jake12121212 Member

Thanks Michael F , I'll take your word that pink + green= dark purple. I really didn't think it could live without really having chlorophyll .

4. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Looks like Iresine herbstii, Beefsteak Plant.

5. jake12121212

jake12121212 Member

Thanks, Junglekeeper, I'll now search books and the Web for "Iresine herbstii", Beefsteak plant. I've been wondering just what it was for the past 3 years. In 12 hours on this site perhaps I've received the answer.

6. Chuck White

Chuck White Active Member

Page 50 of the Fifth Edition of "Tropica" by Alfred Byrd Graf shows that Junglekeepers'
    'looks-like' is right on.

7. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

I just ran across this thread while doing some research. I thought I should do a bit of explanation regarding Graf and his books Exotica 3 and Tropica. Mr. Graf did a wonderful job of introducing collectors to a large number of tropical species. The major problem was Mr. Graf was a collector just like many of us. He was not trained as a botanist. As a result there are many errors with the identification of species in his texts. Just this morning I received this email from Dr. Tom Croat of the Missouri Botanical Garden. Tom is considered the world's leading expert on aroid species.