Winter Dormant Period and Watering

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Jakk, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Jakk

Jakk Active Member

Hi Folks

I am fairly new to house plants and this will be my first winter period with house plants.

I have 21 different plants and I have worked out when to water each one during the growing season, with the exception of a couple most of them like to dry out a bit between waterings.

I am now getting worried about the winter time, I know the plants go dormant so will use less water, my question is do I let them dry out just the same amount as I did in the growing season and then water or should I let them dry out more than I would have done in the growing season before I water them.

I also have a small Hoya cutting, a ZZ Plant and 2 Small Ficus Benjamina sitting on an east facing windowsill, will these be ok there for the winter, I am guessing if it gets really cold and frosty outside then I should move them off into the room somewhere

I hope this makes sense.

Many Thanks

Jakk

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

the zz plant shouldn't need much of a change in watering schedule - it doesn't need much to begin with and once every 3-4-5 weeks is fine at any time of the year.

the hoya should be watered a little less if the temps are quite a bit lower than where ever you kept them during the summer. temps should not get below 50 for most types, so, if that spot gets that low, you'll need to find another spot.

the ficus you can probably cut back frequency by a week or so - dormancy isn't extreme with them and they shouldn't be allowed to dry out completely.

what other plants do you have??? some don't go dormant in winter - some actually go dormant in summer (they never forget where home is and stay on that routine regardless of what continent and hemisphere they're located on).

3. Jakk

Jakk Active Member