Winter Bark Damage? Anything I can do to help my tree?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by parislights, Mar 9, 2010.

1. parislights

parislights Member

Hello all! This is my first try at starting a thread in this forum so hope you will bear with me.

I have a very young Japanese maple, an Eddisbury, that is coming through its first winter in my garden. I planted it in March of 2009. It is about 6 years old.

As it came from a very happy home in Somerset (Karen Junker's nursery) where it received slightly less sun than it does in my garden, the odds are that it is having some settling in problems.

It did very well all summer and had nice growth. Apart from this newly developed wound it seems in good condition. No dieback, no other problem areas.

We have recently had quite a cold snap here (-5C at night) but it gets winter sun pretty much the whole day, and we have had gloriously sunny days of recent !

Is there anything I can do to stop this wound from getting any larger? And should I be protecting my tree from the sun just a bit until it gets a bit stronger?

Thank you for your counsel and advice.

*If the forum moderators consider this a dupe thread, it certainly is! There are several threads going on bark damage, I posted this question in another older thread. But apparently that is considered poor etiquette in the maple society forum !

The first stickied thread on bark damage seemed inhabited by maple professionals and I felt my little problem rather insignificant by comparison! Bit daunting, the maple society forum, but I'm really hoping someone will have some advice! I love my tree !

-parislights

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  2. maf

maf Generous Contributor Maple Society 10 Years