Will this work for a compost tumbler?

Discussion in 'Soils, Fertilizers and Composting' started by Tyne, Oct 12, 2009.

1. Tyne

Tyne Member

I would like to have a miniature compost tumbler on my balcony for composting kitchen scraps. I need it to be sealed to avoid odor and deter raccoons. The commercial models available are way out of my price range. I'm not good at building things, so I've been checking my local thrifts stores for something that I could convert.

Here's what I found. It is a circular metal container attached to a base. It spins on the base. The only opening is the lid, which also has a small hole in the center. The container looks like it could hold maybe seven gallons. I am not sure what kind of metal it is made of. The inscription on the side reads "Horikawa Press K.K. Patent Number 232128." One person told me that he thought it it was a dry cleaner. I can't find any information online.

I'm wondering if this is safe to use as a compost tumbler. If not, I can return it, so please let me know! What kind of metal is this and/or is it safe for a compost bin? Do I need to worry about rust? Could there be chemical residue of some kind and if so how should I clean it? Does the natural composting process work at such a small scale, or would I need to add worms? Are there any other potential problems that I am missing?

Thank you!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. Blake09

Blake09 Active Member

Yes Its perfect

:)

3. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

Nifty!
    Try slapping a magnet on it: if the magnet latches on, your find contains iron and therefore might do some rusting.

I would probably wash it out just on general principles. One concern might be getting enough air in there...I know that one essential part of composting is to aerate and turn the pile. Maybe some more holes?

Hey---welcome to the Forum! Am sure our composting mavens will share their vast knowledge with you. Good luck!

4. togata57