What citrus tree is this and about how old??

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by redheaded_realtor, Jun 26, 2006.

1. redheaded_realtor

redheaded_realtor Member

Hello all - I am very new to this whole gardening thing as we have recently bought a home with a nice backyard, a citrus tree (of some sort) and a Papaya tree. I am enthusiastic about this, but need to know more about the citrus tree and how to properly take care of both the citrus and the Papaya. The citrus looks mature and I have determined that it does have sooty mold (after observing an abundance of whiteflies), but seems to be producing fruit. The citrus tree had nothing on it when we first moved in at the end of April and now has golf ball sized green balls which are perfectly round and rather hard. I cut one open, but can't tell yet if it smells like lime, orange or grapefruit. Have a look and let me know what you think! Also, what is the best way to get rid of whiteflies and the black sooty mold without contaminating the fruit or hurting the tree?? The tree may also have scales, but I am not sure.. Also does anyone have an idea of how old the tree is?

My Papaya tree is about 8-9 feet tall and produces fruit nicely. We have VERY sandy soil.. how should I be maintaining these trees? Does the Papaya need to be trimmed regularly?

Thanks a bunch!

Attached Files:

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

My guess would be an orange, but wait a few more months until the fruit are ripe and see how they turn out.

3. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years

You can go to the web site of Florida Southern College, then look for the fnformation on Dr. Malcolm Manners, and click on his site. At the school's web site for Dr. Manners you can find a link to his personal web page. There you can click on a site of citrus leaves. Match a leaf from his leaf library to your tree and you might be able to identify your tree. - Millet

4. mr.shep

mr.shep Well-Known Member 10 Years