Watering tomatoes in containers

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by Madi, Jul 7, 2009.

1. Madi

Madi Member

Hi. A bit of a novice here...I wonder if anyone can help me. I am reading so much information (and it is all over the board) about watering my tomatoes and am so worried about growing them and them getting end rot. So, my question is: how much and how often do I water my tomatoes that are in containers in full sun?
    Someone said to give them about a gallon of water a day!!! Not to let them get dry. Somewhere else said to dry out between watering??? Please help. Thank you!! Madi

2. galiano

galiano Active Member

I'm just outside Victoria and have lots of tomatoes in pots in the full sun, so similar conditions to you. I water mine about every day or two depending on the weather. You don't want the soil to be either soaking wet or totally dry. I'd say every day if it's sunny and every few days if it's cloudy. Someone suggested a gallon a day to you - Yikes ! Far too much. I also have mulched mine using grass clippings and that helps keep the soil moist a little longer on the hot days.

As to blossom end rot you'll get lots of suggestions here. It is a lack of calcium into the plant and it helps to water regularly but not overdoing it. Last year at the first sign of it I circled each plant with a bit of lime and watered it in. Seemed to work.

Good luck.

3. JanR

JanR Active Member