Vegetable gardening on a budget

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by emandeli, Mar 18, 2015.

1. emandeli

emandeli Member

Newbie gardener. We moved to a smaller house/yard and there is about a 8x10 plot in the ground near the house (hottest sunniest place), and also now a couple of raised bed. One is only about 7-8 inches deep.

We would like to plant vegetables (some herbs, smaller veggies as well like green onions). We have very small budget this year so I'm curious what would be the most cost-effective way to plant. Buying just a few small veggie starters when they come out or getting seeds?

I am so new that I am just learning about open pollination and correct me if I'm wrong-If I wanted to save seeds and have them be like the parent plant would I look for "op" on seed packets? Since we have 4 kids and one income I would like to try to think ahead and learn how to not have it so expensive each year...learning to compost own, get free manure, etc.

I noticed some pages with seeds can be 4-5$ a small packet whereas other places might be quite less. Is there a major difference? I hate to say it but we are looking for the "best bang for our buck" so to speak.

Any tips or recommendations appreciated very much.

2. pmurphy

pmurphy Contributor 10 Years

If you are looking for "bang for your buck" I would recommend checking out Park Seeds http://parkseed.com/. Quick shipping and for certain seeds you are getting a lot for the price - I bought some Sugar Buns Hybrid Corn Seeds for $2.95 but didn't read the description fully so imagine my surprise when I received a large packet of 200 seeds....the same with the peas I ordered. And sometime you can even get free shipping.