Total plant newb: need indentification and advice please!

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by lmarieaa, Mar 6, 2010.

1. lmarieaa

lmarieaa Member

hello! I am new to the this hobby and so far, I have not been very lucky. I have been through a handful of plants. After doing some research on the internet, I realized I was killing them with kindness by grossly overwatering them. I am not really sure when they need water and when they do not. Does the soil need to be completely dry before I water again? How much water do i give them? Also, when do i fertilize them and whats the best to give them?
    I recently took a trip to the floral shop and picked up a few new plants to start over with in hopes of not killing them this time. I am hoping someone can help me indentify them and maybe give me any tips for them. Thanks!

The only plant that I know what it is, is the Jade. I didn't post a specific pic of that one.

P1020190.jpg

P1020188.jpg

P1020187.jpg

P1020185.jpg

P1020182.jpg

P1020176.jpg

P1020172.jpg

P1020169.jpg

2. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

1. Spider plant
    2. Parlor palm
    3. Schefflera
    4. Jade plant (L)---Schefflera (R)---center...???
    5. Caladium?...Syngonium?
    6. Calathea?
    7. Dieffenbachia
    8. Pothos

3. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Looks like:
    1. Chlorophytum comosum 'Vittatum', Spider Plant;
    2. Chamaedorea elegans, Parlour Palm;
    3. Schefflera arboricola, Umbrella Tree;
    4. Peperomia obtusifolia;
    5. Caladium bicolor, Angels' Wings;
    6. Maranta leuconeura var. kerchoveana, Prayer Plant;
    7. Dieffenbachia 'Camille', Dumb Cane;
    8. Epipremnum pinnatum, Pothos.

4. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

Dang nab it! My first thought with #6 was Maranta, but I plumped for Calathea. Phooey!
    Thanks, Jk.

5. Junglekeeper