the new guy

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by bigmunt, Apr 13, 2009.

1. bigmunt

bigmunt Member

hi everyone

i dont know much about plants and such but i started growing some jalapenos from the seed and they are sprouting

i just wanted a few tips so i dont kill the plants or whatever

thanks

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Don't overwater (ie wait until the soil is dry to the depth of your first knuckle), and don't let them have full sun until there are about 10 leaves on each plant. Other than that, pepper plants are like weeds.

3. OGS

OGS Member

I am also new to gardening and planted jalapenos from seed (and a bunch of other vegetables!) I made the mistake of letting 10 seeds germinate in one peat pellot and had to separate them into styrofoam cups. My kitchen area is full of cups. I can't wait until May when they could go out. I recently read that jalapenos cannot be planted near bell peppers. How far apart should they be?

4. lorax

At least 2 feet. If you plant them closer, your bells will cease to be sweet.

5. OGS

OGS Member

Muchas gracias! Do you think the same applies for tomatoes? I was going to plant the tallest things like corn on the north side of my garden and working my way down to the smallest on the south. Jalapenos would be in front of tomatoes.

6. lorax

I've never noticed that jalapenos affect tomato flavour, but I don't plant them together anyway - the tomatoes go under shade cloth but the peppers can withstand full sun. (I'll point out that I'm near the equator at about 12,000 feet elevation, and the sun's a lot stronger here.)

If you're planting corn, consider running your peas or beans up the stalks. The legumes fix nitrogen which will help the corn grow taller and produce larger ears.

7. OGS

OGS Member

That's an interesting idea (the beans up the corn stalk). I think I will try that. Thank you.

8. lorax