Identification: Taco Cactus/Succulent?

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by Laticauda, Jan 28, 2009.

1. Laticauda

Laticauda Active Member

Okay, so I saw this on e-bay, and I'm amazed! Any idea what the weird taco looking thing is? Also, any idea on the cactus pictured would be helpful. (I'm new to all of this, so please forgive my noob-iness)

EDIT :: I guess I should have posted this in the plant identification forum

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

the 'taco' looking plant is most probably a kalanchoe. the one in front of that is probably an echeveria.

the green/white spikey is a haworthia and the cactus could be one of a few types...i'm not too good at id'ing them yet.

3. Laticauda

Laticauda Active Member

Yeah, if they are anything like invertebrates, it can take years to even begin to scrape the surface of all the different latin names! Thanks, I'll have to research that "kalanchoe."

4. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

Actually I think it's better to post ID requests for cacti & succulents here, there are too much other plants on the ID forum for me, I rarely look at it.
    Can't see enough details on the cactus, but my first guess is Lobivia.

5. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

I think the taco-shell-looking plant is Kalanchoe diagremontiana. If it is, and it greens up a bit, more--many more plants--should be on the way.

6. JenRi

JenRi Active Member

Wow I didn't know you got Kalanchoe's like that....mine is very green with yellow flowers, common name is flaming Katy.

7. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

there are a large number of varieties of kalanchoe.

i have 'flaming katy', too. love the flowers on it!

8. JenRi

JenRi Active Member

Yeah me too, thats why I bought it actually, I'd missed having something flowering in my room since my Cyclamen died, have a Hyacinth coming up too:)

9. Chungii V

Chungii V Active Member