Saoshika

Discussion in 'Maples' started by tjcher, Jul 24, 2009.

1. tjcher

tjcher Active Member

Hi Everybody--- Hope all is well.

I've done some searching and come up with a few pictures, but little information on Acer Palmatum Saoshika.

Anyone growing this that would care to share any information (hardiness in your zone, growth rate, problems, wind resistance, sun preferences...)?

Would be most appreciative!
    Tom

2. maf

maf Generous Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

Hi, I've been growing a small Saoshika in a container for about six years now, originally bought as a one year graft. I have only increased its container size slowly over the years so the growth in this case has been slow, but even so it has remained healthy, with no problems or dieback that I can remember.

As for hardiness, it has probably never encountered temps below about -8 or -10°C, the winters are relatively mild here compared to parts of the US, and is fine with no winter protection. This year I am giving it more sun than it is used to (about 7 hours I guess, early morning till about 1pm) and in midsummer the topmost leaves are assuming a slightly stressed reddish tone, but nothing to be worried about and no leaf burn.

I really like Saoshika, the leaf shape provides an interesting contrast to most other Japanese maples. Here are a couple of pictures, the first taken on the 22nd of May, the second taken 28th of June and showing the red colour I mentioned and a nice contrast with Kiyohime in the background.
    saoshika1.jpg saoshika2.jpg

3. Daniel Otis

Daniel Otis Active Member Maple Society 10 Years