Rhododendron? Planting Plan help

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Gordoner, Sep 18, 2018.

1. Gordoner

Gordoner New Member

Hi ALL,

I am planning a garden bed that borders a sidewalk and a building that runs 47 feet long is 6 feet deep and has three mature Oak trees evenly spaced in the bed. The bed faces south with the building blocking the north.

I want to plant something classic with little maintenance and at least once a year WOW factor, so I thought Rhododendron. As I am still new to the gardening trade and have little experience with Rhodos, what do you all think?

I am open to other ideas too, Something classic and evergreen would be nice.

In addition, outside of the Rhododendron society and the Van Dusen plant sale, where is a recommended nursery to source Rhodos?

Thank you for any help and suggestions that come from this.

Peace.

Gordoner

2. rhodomontade

rhodomontade Active Member

Hi Gordoner:

It's not the best time to buy rhodos as the nurseries all have a low stock. You could wait until Spring or check the availability at some of the following: I am presuming you live in the Lower Mainland.

1. Arts Nursery in Langley
    2. Cedar Rim Nursery, ditto
    3. Port Kells Nursery in Surrey
    4. Garden Works, Burnaby, on the Lougheed Hwy. There's another with a few plants at the Mandeville location, though they seem to have fewer plants and choices than in previous years.
    5. Triple Tree Nurseryland, Maple Ridge, on the Lougheed Hwy.

These usually have a reasonable stock and selection of hybrids. If you're new to rhodos, I wouldn't plant any species (and these nurseries rarely have any).

If you want some expert advice, please come to tomorrow evening's VRS meeting at VanDusen, Floral Hall. We have an excellent speaker presenting a talk on S. Africa plants. Doors open at 7 pm. There will be plenty of experienced gardeners to provide some advice on growing rhodos.

Regards,
    Toby

3. Gordoner