Pruning Apple Tree (Photo Attached)

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by All Thumbs, Jan 24, 2010.

1. All Thumbs

All Thumbs Member

Hello everyone!

It has recently become my responsibility to prune the Apple Tree in the attached picture.
    I have no knowledge of pruning Apple trees except that the vertical limbs are referred to as "suckers" and should be lopped off.

Well, almost ALL of the branches are vertical so what now? I understand that the tree was pruned 7 years ago so these branches are well established. Should I lop them all off? (Vertical shooters)

Hope you can see enough detail as the contrast is not great. I can go back to the property if necessary and take a better picture.

Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. Grant Gussie

Grant Gussie Active Member

Your tree was clearly pruned into the older "open vase" style instead of the "central leader" style more common today. Thats no problem. But the tree has since gone out of control, which is.

I would start by drastically thinning the younger vertical growth (which around here are called water spouts, not suckers by the way. I dont know why.). I am sure some would say get rid of ALL the younger growth, but I would proceed much more cautiously. I would clear out the center completely, but leave 5 to 10 feet of SOME of the outer growth intact. I would pick those branches on the outside rim of the tree that are not completely vertical to keep. I would remove the others, but over a period of three years, and not a single season, as we are talking major reductions here. I have attached a crude picture of what the tree would look like after I got through with it (after all the wood is removed).