Political Correctness for Woodys

Discussion in 'Woody Plants' started by lhuget, Feb 15, 2008.

1. lhuget

lhuget Active Member

Today someone asked me if an acer negundo was a good choice for their backyard. (Not a good choice in our area). I'm not a woody expert by any means, it just came up in conversation. My response was "ummm, wellllll" and then I remembered what I learned in a course I took on the woodys in our area and I responded "That tree is more suitable for reclamation uses, not for gardens". Thought I'd share that with woody fans although it probably would be appropriate for herbaceous plants too.

Les

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

It has a tendency to brittle branches, which makes it unsuitable for planting in places where people might be injured or killed by falling branches. Also often fairly short-lived.

Conversely, its tolerance of very poor soil is what makes it suitable for reclamation of degraded land such as old mine waste heaps.

So there is reason in what you were taught!

4. Ron B

A more mannerly growth habit and improved branch structure results in as tough and adaptable tree that is less susceptible to storm damage than the species

--Article at link above

5. Ron B

Seedling box elders were once widely planted as fast-growing shade trees. Now mostly grafted cultivars are sold. The species is tolerant of difficult conditions, but does not age well in cultivation, posing problems such as breaking limbs. Still, the wholesale condemnation with which some people dismiss it is unfair and narrow-minded

--A. Jacobson, North American Landscape Trees (1996, Ten Speed Press)

6. abgardeneer

abgardeneer Active Member