Identification: Please help ID and save this plant!

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by MoogleTheSly, May 26, 2005.

1. MoogleTheSly

MoogleTheSly Member

Hi I am actually a UCSD student in California and I keep this plant in my dorm room. Earlier in the year I would water about once a week and it didn't seem to need much watering or light. I could be wrong though.

However the past few weeks i just completely forgot to take care of it at all! As a result it is dying horribly, the leaves are turning yellow, the stems have become shriveled and have been losing color. Also, at the top of the stems, there are holes and it has become really dry and brittle, which is why I'm scared it's already too late for it.

The plant is actually composed of multiple stems bound to each other by a golden plastic ribbon (however since the stems have shriveled, they have lost volume and the ribbon comes off now). The pot is actually filled with pebbles rather than soil. You can see the state of the plant through the pictures.

Please help! Anything is appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. Marn

Marn Active Member 10 Years

Hi there ..

that is Called a Lucky Bamboo plant .. ya might aslo want to chek for spidermites on it .. u can mist it and if u see a webbing u can just rinse it off under water .. also here is some other care for your plant ..

change the water every couple of weeks, making sure the water has had a chance to stand 24 hrs to rid of the chlorine. If you have a well system that is fine, or use rain water . Even distilled water will do fine.

Cutting off the damaged part is fine.

and dont put it in bright sun . filtered light is fine ...

god luck with it

Marn

3. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hi MoogleTheSly,