planting vegetable garden near the septic

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Milagarden, Apr 8, 2015.

1. Milagarden

Milagarden New Member

Hello. I'm new to this site, in fact - we just moved from Alberta to BC and bought a beautiful house in Langley, so I'm also new to BC. I was full of excitement with the 0.2 acre back yard and started to make plans on how I will grow my fruits and vegetables. Me, eating raw food mostly, it cost a lot to buy it, so growing your own would definitely help. Unfortunately, little we know, that the septic system on our yard is taking the majority of the yard and I have almost nothing left for my garden. After lots tears and big disappointment ( after dealing with hot-hot-hot Vancouver house market ) I decided to educate myself more on this topic and started reading different posts. I should of learn more about the septic, but it is what it is now and maybe some of you may help. So, this is what I'd like to know:
    How far can I build a green house from the septic field?
    Can I build raised beds for cucumbers and greens? and if yes, than how far from the septic field?
    How far can I plant strawberries, raspberries, cherries, ecs. mostly dwarf trees?
    Is it safe? I hear different opponents on that too. Some people say it's to dangerous due to bacteria coming from the septic or contamination, but some say that people did it for centuries in different parts of the world and it's absolutely safe.
    Please, if you are an experienced gardener and have an experience with the septic system, help me.

2. Sundrop

Sundrop Well-Known Member

These were different times when septic systems contained only natural human waste. Now they are full of synthetic chemicals mostly from laundry detergents, but not only. I would not be afraid of bacteria, although who knows what kind of bacteria is there nowadays, as much as I would be of those chemicals.