Plant Research Ideas

Discussion in 'Plants: Science and Cultivation' started by JustAStudent, May 7, 2009.

1. JustAStudent

JustAStudent Member

Hello,

I am a high school student and I am needing some ideas on possible topics for plant research. The assignment is specific that I have to conduct an experiment and create a 4000-word (approximately) report/research on it. I've done some research in areas of botany, and those that interest me most are:

- Plant hormones (Gibberellins)​
    - Plant pathology​
    - Phototropism​

I'm ambitious to do a complex, specific experiment, however, I am limited by the supplies I am able to obtain and the equipment I have access to within my school. I have all summer to conduct an experiment, so time is not an essential component of this experiment. Since this is a biological report, I am advised not to go too far into other areas of science (e.g. biochemistry). If anyone can give me some advice or direction in this, I would greatly appreciate it.

2. K Baron

K Baron Well-Known Member

Hello,

You may find studying the Arbutus menziesii in West Vancouver, as it seems to be in a state of decline from various factors?

3. JustAStudent

JustAStudent Member

Oh I just looked it up and it seems very interesting! I will propose it to my instructor. The only problem I see is that it will be almost entirely based on secondary data? Thanks.

4. Barbara Lloyd

Barbara Lloyd Well-Known Member

JustAStudent,
    Vancouver, which? Washinton? Island? City?
    If City, make an appointment to go see the folks that operate this web site at UBC. You have a great opportunity to "get aquainted" with, and to learn from some facinating, knowledgeable people.
    barb

5. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years